St. Ann’s was formally founded in 1951 by the Carmelite Sisters of The Divine Heart of Jesus after Bishop Francis Haas, of the Diocese of Grand Rapids, invited the Sisters to open a “Home for the Aged” in the diocese. The original St Ann’s Home was established on the corner of Madison and Wealthy streets on the near Southeast Side.
Seeing a continued need for expansion the Carmelite Sisters, in 1967, built the present St Ann’s on 23 acres on Grand Rapids’ West Side. The campus offers tree-lined walks and gently rolling hills. The picturesque facility is designed with residents needs first and creates a feeling of home and family. Whether a resident chooses a novel from the library; visits with friends in the salon; enjoys culinary creations in the dining room; or participates in scheduled activities, he or she will find fulfillment and peace.